East Tennessee Foundation Awards Cobb Scholarships


East Tennessee Foundation Awards $200,000

in 2017 Gordon W. & Agnes P. Cobb Scholarships

Three recipients from Blount County

Two recipients from Knox County

East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) is proud to announce the winners of its 2017 Gordon W. & Agnes P. Cobb Scholarship Award, one of the Foundation’s largest scholarships. Each of the five recipients has been awarded a scholarship in the amount of $10,000 per year, renewable for up to four years, for a total of up to $40,000 each.


This year three students from Blount County and two students from Knox County received the prestigious and highly competitive Cobb Scholarship Award. The 2017 recipients include: Hailey Brooks from Belmont University; Olyvia Norton from Heritage High School; James Rainwater  from William Blount High School; Pippa Emert from Carter High School; and Sydnie Toler from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

ETF’s Gordon W. and Agnes P. Cobb Scholarship Fund was established in 1996 through a $3 million bequest left by Agnes P. Cobb Yoakum as a tribute to her late husband and his work in the field of medical science. The fund is intended to assist students living in Blount, Knox and Loudon counties who are passionate about pursuing medical-related careers. Since its inception, the Gordon W. and Agnes P. Cobb Scholarship Fund has awarded over two million dollars to area students.

“It is indeed a privilege and an honor for East Tennessee Foundation, with our Gordon W. and Agnes P. Cobb Scholarship Fund, to enable these outstanding and compassionate young people to reach their goals and dreams of a career in a medical field.  We are confident that these students, as many past Cobb recipients have done, will contribute to building stronger communities and better lives through their work in our region,” said Mike McClamroch, President and CEO of East Tennessee Foundation.


East Tennessee Foundation currently administers 62 active scholarship programs assisting 193 students

within its 25-county service area and beyond. Scholarships established through East Tennessee Foundation by individuals, groups, families, and friends help fulfill the dreams of those wishing to pursue secondary education.


For more information, please contact Beth Heller, Director of Scholarship Programs at (865) 524-1223

or via e-mail at


Back to News Listing