2014 Board of Directors

East Tennessee Foundation is managed by a volunteer board of directors who are very knowledgeable about their communities and broadly representative of the East Tennessee region.  

2014 ETF Board of Directors
Seated: L to R - Cynthia Burnley, Ellen Fowler, Fred Womack, Howard Blum, Patricia Robledo, Pat Postma, Mary Beth West, Phyllis Nichols,
 Standing: L to R - Dennis Upton, Nita Summers, Rick Fox, Jeff Chapman, John Geppi, Keith Goodwin, David Jones, Jed Dance, Alice Mercer, David Martin,
 Dwight Tarwater, Dick Jacobstein, David Haynes, Keith Burroughs,and Jan McNally.


Chair  Fred D. Womack, Major General, U.S. Air Force, Retired
Vice Chair  Keith D. Goodwin, President/CEO, East Tennessee Children's Hospital
Treasurer  John Worden, Partner, Worden, Rechenbach, & Brooke
President (ex-officio)  Michael T. McClamroch, President & CEO,
East Tennessee Foundation
Secretary (ex-officio) Carolyn Schwenn, Executive Vice President and Secretary, East Tennessee Foundation
 Past Chair (ex-officio)
 Alice Mercer, Community Volunteer

Board of Directors

  • Dan M. Bechtol, President and CEO, ChoiceDATA
  • Jeffrey M. Becker, Professor, UT Microbiology Department
  • Martha E. Begalla, Community Volunteer
  • Howard Z. Blum, Sponsorship Specialist, Helen Ross McNabb
  • Mary Ellen Brewington, Vice President, Creative Marketing, Cherokee Distributing Company
  • Cynthia Burnley, Community Volunteer
  • Keith H. Burroughs, President, Burroughs Collins & Newcomb, PLC
  • Patsy Q. Carson, Community Volunteer
  • Jefferson Chapman, Director, Frank H. McClung Museum, University of Tennessee; and Chairman, Chapman Family Foundation
  • Joan C. Cronan, University of Tennessee, Senior Advisor to the Chancellor
  • Jed Dance, Vice President at Bacon and Company
  • Larry R. Estepp, Executive Vice President, Citizens Bank
  • Ellen B. Fowler, Senior Estimator/LEED, Johnson & Galyon, Inc.
  • Richard T. Fox, President, Fox Management
  • John T. Geppi, Executive Vice President & CFO, Covenant Health
  • David Haynes, FSG Bank Market Executive
  • Christine G. Hayworth, Community Volunteer
  • Richard E. Jacobstein, Community Volunteer
  • David P. Jones, Executive Vice President & CFO, Team Health
  • Cheryl Massingale, Community Volunteer
  • Jan McNally, Retired Health Care Professional
  • Phyllis Y. Nichols, President & CEO, Knoxville Area Urban League
  • Patricia D. Postma, Community Volunteer
  • Will J. Pugh, Chairman, Pugh & Company, P.C.
  • Patricia I. Robledo, Business Liaison, City of Knoxville
  • Mitchell D. Steenrod, Senior Vice President & CFO, Pilot Flying J
  • Nita Summers, Community Volunteer
  • Dwight Tarwater, Attorney with Paine, Tarwater, & Bickers
  • Dennis R. Upton, Vice President for Procurement, KUB
  • Mary Beth West, Mary Beth West Communications, LLC


  • Bobbie Y. Congleton, Community Volunteer
  • Natalie L. Haslam, Community Volunteer
  • A. David Martin, Chairman and Founder, Martin & Company
  • David V. White, Community Volunteer
  • Stuart R. Worden, Worden, Rechenbach & Brooke