East Tennessee Foundation and Consolidated Nuclear Security (CNS Y-12) Announce 2018 Grant Recipients

October 31, 2018

EAST TENNESSEE – East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) announces grant recipients from the CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund, a corporate donor advised fund of ETF.  Twenty-two (22) grants totaling $125,000 were awarded to nonprofit organizations in eight East Tennessee counties.  The grant recipients will be honored at a reception on Thursday, November 15 at the New Hope Center in Oak Ridge. 

CNS is the contractor at Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge, TN, and the Pantex Plant in Amarillo, TX.  In addition to managing its two sites, CNS has established funds at ETF and Amarillo Area Foundation (AAF) as part of their commitment to the host communities of Amarillo and Oak Ridge, as well as their local counties and regions.  By establishing these funds, CNS has created opportunities for ETF and AAF to work together as they create programs for CNS employees to work with their local community foundations to award grants benefitting nonprofit organizations in their respective regions. The CNS Y-12 Investment Advisory Committee, comprised of CNS Y-12 employees, reviewed applications and recommended grants to support nonprofit organizations whose projects addressed one of the committee’s focus areas: historic and cultural preservation, or mental health and substance abuse.

Grants from the CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund have been awarded to the following organizations: Avery Trace Chapter, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR); Blossom Center for Childhood Excellence, Inc.; Campbell Culture Coalition; CDJ Media; Children’s Museum of Oak Ridge; City of Kingston Parks and Recreation; Coal Creek Miners Museum; Community Coalition Against Human Trafficking; COMPASSion Counseling; East Tennessee Children’s Hospital; Friends of the Grove Theatre, Inc.; Knoxville Family Justice Center; Main Street Athens; Mayme Carmichael School Organization, Inc.; Mental Health Association of East Tennessee; Milly’s Wings; Postmark LaFollette; Quilts of Valor Foundation; Rhea-Craig Chapter NSDAR; Roane County Heritage Commission; Shangri-La Therapeutic Academy of Riding; and The Florence Crittenton Agency.

For more information, please contact Jan Elston, Vice President for Competitive Grant Programs for East Tennessee Foundation, at (865) 524-1223, toll-free at 1-877-524-1223 or via e-mail at jelston@etf.org.