Fund for Monroe County initiates Grantmaking

September 19, 2022

Applications for grants from the Fund for Monroe County, an affiliate fund of East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) are now being accepted. Nonprofit organizations, schools, and municipalities are strongly encouraged to submit proposals for projects and programs which benefit residents of Monroe County. Grants will support two-year projects beginning late November 2022. Using an online grant application system, applications must be submitted by October 3, 2022 to be considered for funding. Eligible applicants must submit a program/project which serves Monroe County residents. 

For an overview of the grants program and access to the application, visit

The John D. Grubb and Louise G. Sumner Fund for Monroe County (Fund for Monroe County) was established through a generous gift by Monroe County natives, John and his sister, Louise. Louise and John’s desire to help secure advanced educational opportunities for students and leave a philanthropic legacy dedicated to improving the lives of residents of Monroe County became a reality in 1998 with the establishment of a permanent charitable endowment for Monroe County. The Fund was created to benefit the economic, social, cultural, and educational well-being of Monroe County residents and their communities. Grants from the Fund are intended to encourage creative and collaborative use of area resources and contribute to the quality of life of Monroe County residents. The following community volunteers serve on the Fund for Monroe Advisory Board: Donna Bradshaw, Patsy Carson, Alfred Greenwood, Burt Lee, Bob Mundle, and Marsha Standridge.

East Tennessee Foundation, established in 1986, is a regional community foundation serving 25 counties in East Tennessee. With the mission of providing philanthropic leadership inspiring donors to make lives better and communities stronger in enduring ways across generations, ETF administers numerous affiliate funds, including the Fund for Monroe County.

For more information, please contact Jill Murphy, Regional Advancement Officer or Ashley Siferd Butler, Director of Competitive Grants, at