ETF Announces New Joe R. and Kathy K. May Scholarship

November 16, 2020

A new scholarship, the Joe R. and Kathy K. May Scholarship, has been established to benefit students residing in Anderson, Blount, Grainger, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, Roane, Sevier, or Union counties who may not display the highest scholastic rankings yet possess potential and motivation. 

Financial need is required, and preference will be given to first generation students. Graduates of West High School and those enrolling in Carson-Newman University will also be given special consideration. 

Scholarship information, including detailed descriptions and application instructions, as well as 2021 applications, are now available on our website, The scholarship application must be completed and submitted online. Attached is a copy of the online applicant tutorial. The application deadline is February 15, 2021. 

East Tennessee Foundation currently administers 71 active scholarship programs assisting 213 students within its 25-county service area and beyond. Scholarships established through East Tennessee Foundation by individuals, groups, families, and friends help fulfill the dreams of those wishing to pursue post-secondary education. 

For more information, please contact Beth Heller, Vice President for Scholarship Programs, at (865) 524-1223, toll-free at (877) 524-1223, or by email at For additional information about the scholarships available through ETF, please visit