James K. Goldston INFOSEC Scholarship

Purpose and History

Established in 2006 by the family of James K. Goldston to provide assistance to students from Tennessee to pursue undergraduate programs of study in computer engineering, computer science, cyber science, or information security.

Scholarship Amount

$1,700 one-time award for one year

Eligibility Requirements

  • Residency Requirement: Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox (TN), Loudon, McMinn, Monroe, Morgan, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, or Washington County
  • Education Requirement: Graduating high school seniors, currently enrolled college/university students, and non-traditional aged students
  • Field of Study: Computer engineering, computer science, cyber science, information security OR an NSA-approved INFOSEC curriculum. Interest in cyber security and information security preferred. Here is a list of NSA-approved INFOSEC programs.
  • GPA Minimum: 2.5
  • College/Enrollment Requirement: Full-time undergraduate at an accredited not-for-profit public or private college, university, or community college 
  • Must demonstrate financial need
  • Additional Requirements: 
    • U.S. Citizenship
    • Special consideration given to non-traditional students and applicants planning to attend or currently attending Tennessee schools
    • Preference given to applicants who are the first in their family to attend college

Explore Our Funds